Presidential Proclamation 10052 set to expire on December 31, 2020

December 29, 2020

Throughout 2020, President Trump has issued several travel bans affecting various foreign nationals, including individuals who were present in the People’s Republic of China, Iran, the Schengen Area, the UK and Ireland, Brazil as well as certain immigrants and nonimmigrants including H-1B, H-2B, L-1, and J visa workers.

On June 22, 2020, President Trump issued Proclamation 10052 which banned the entry of certain H-1B, L-1, and J-1 workers and extended Proclamation 10014 of April 22, 2002 (the travel ban suspending entry of certain immigrants). This travel ban is set to expire on December 31, 2020, but “may be continued as necessary.” Thus far, the President has not made an official statement regarding whether he will continue to extend Presidential Proclamations 10052 and 10014

The other travel bans are not set to expire; rather, they will remain in effect until the President terminates them. So far, President Trump has not officially indicated whether he will terminate any of the travel bans.

If you have questions about the travel bans or other immigration-related questions, please feel free to reach out to us.